What I’m Reading: 2015 in Books

Every year Goodreads sets out a challenge for how many books you want to read in a given year.  Some years I’ve been ambitious and others more moderate.  In 2015 I some how blew past my 30 book goal and read 37.  Granted, a good portion of those were Romances, but I did manage to throw in an assortment of Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult and even Sci-Fi for a change of pace.  And let’s be honest, sometimes you have to read through a bunch of ho-hum novels before you find the one that restores your faith in reading again.

21411388

In order read (favorite books are highlighted in red and are highly recommended):

  1. The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett – Fantasy
  2. Dangerous Highlander by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  3. Devil in my Bed by Celeste Bradley – Regency Romance
  4. Hot Blooded by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  5. Firelight by Kristen Callahan – Paranormal Romance
  6. Scoundrel in my Dreams by Celeste Bradley – Regency Romance
  7. Wicked Highlander by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  8. Forbidden Highlander by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  9. Rogue in my Arms by Celeste Bradley – Regency Romance
  10. Shadow Highlander by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  11. Darkest Highlander by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  12. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – Young Adult
  13. Untamed Highlander by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  14. Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell by Brandon Sanderson – Fantasy/Novella
  15. Hush by Karen Robards – Fiction/Romance Thriller
  16. One Second After by William R. Forstchen – Fiction
  17. Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank – Ficiton/Classic
  18. Perfect State by Brandon Sanderson – Fantasy/Novella
  19. Night’s Blaze by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  20. Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin – Young Adult
  21. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – Fiction/Historical
  22. Veil of Night by Linda Howard – Fiction/Romance Thriller
  23. Burn by Linda Howard – Fiction/ Romance Thriller
  24. Sleepwalker by Karen Robards – Fiction/Romance Thriller
  25. London’s Perfect Scoundrel by Suzanne Enoch – Regency Romance
  26. All the King’s Men by Karen Robards – Fiction/Romance Thriller
  27. The Martian by Andy Weir – Sci-Fi
  28. The Brazen Bride by Stephanie Laurens – Historical Romance
  29. Soul Scorched by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  30. The Boys of Fire and Ash by Meaghan Isaac – Young Adult
  31. H20 by Virginia Bergin – Young Adult
  32. Before the Scandal by Suzanne Enoch – Regency Romance
  33. After the Kiss by Suzanne Enoch – Regency Romance
  34. Dark Alpha’s Claim by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance
  35. Red Rising by Pierce Brown – Sci-Fi/Young Adult
  36. Golden Sun by Pierce Brown – Sci-Fi/Young Adult
  37. Passion Ignites by Donna Grant – Paranormal Romance

I don’t think I could ever do a book a week since I do most of my reading/sewing after the wee Beastie goes to nap/bed and there are simply not enough hours to do all the things I want in the time that follows. Housework can’t always be put on hold.  What I mean is some days are more exhausting than others.

This year I’m aiming for 40 books in 2016.  I’ve already got 2 under my belt (yes, both Romances) but there are promising new releases coming out namely Morningstar by Pierce Brown (February) and hopefully, fingers crossed, Stormlight #3 by Brandon Sanderson at the end of this year.  If I can manage it I’ll even get around to reading the Alloy of Law also by Sanderson.

And I may attempt an entire re-read of The Wheel of Time by the late Robert Jordan.  I had a friend who completed all the books in a calendar year and it’s a daunting task on top of all my other goals for 2016, but hey, dream big!

Leave a Reply

