A Pile of To-Dos

My goodness time has certainly gotten away from us this month!  We’ve been so busy being outside the last few weeks that it’s become a real challenge to haul ourselves in for the night.  The harvest is coming in strong and I’ve been putting up beans since June and just got started on tomato sauce these last two weeks.  I even did a batch of chicken stock!

I honestly didn’t think the tomatoes were going to come thru, but I’m so grateful it got warm enough to ripen these puppies up and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that we can refrain from going thru all the sauce before mid-winter.

Even the grapes fruited this year!! This is especially exciting because they’ve been 3 years in the ground and it’s taken alot of patience and careful pruning to nuture them to this point.  Not quite enough for grape jelly but a wonderful preview of things to come.

And to top it off I’m already figuring out how many bulbs I want to put in the flower beds this fall and getting ready to put in an order for garlic and plotting out where to put the kale.  *WHEW*

If I sound busy it’s because I have been.

Fi also turned #3 and had what could only be described as “the best.birthday.ever.” (despite me having a combo of allergies and sinus ick I think I scored some major points with this year’s bash).  Can’t believe she’ll be starting preschool after Labor Day already.

You’re never more aware of the passage of time and how fleeting it is until you have a child.

As she gets older though and she interacts with the world around her more she’s discovering some pretty amazing things, like this caterpillar.

Wild Saturniid Silk Moth or Ceceropia for short. It’s the biggest moth in the US and we’ve spotted 2 in the last week! When we found him slogging thru our yard he seemed pretty tired and I figured he was about ready to find a good resting spot. This guy is about 4 in long. He managed to weave a cocoon over on one of my vinca plants over the next 2 days and it made for a fun biology “lesson”.  Hoping he survives the winter as they don’t emerge until late spring/early summer.

I also started a five week photography class and hope to do a basic Lightroom class after that and if that wasn’t enough to make me question my sanity I’ve upped my running mileage and completed a solid 7 miles on Saturday with a decent, easy pace and am planning for 8 miles this coming weekend.  Never thought I’d be where I am now but it feels strange.

Only 4 more weeks till my first Half Marathon.  I’d like to potentially run 11 miles and walk 2 of them somewhere in between.  That’s the plan and I’m sure I’ll have to scrap it the second the starting gun goes off.

Leave a Reply

