Broken In

“It never gets easier. You just get better.”

6 weeks into my half marathon training and it’s been taxing, rewarding, aggravating and at times exhausting.  I’ve spread out my running requirements a bit more to help me build up my endurance without killing myself. This has been both a good and bad idea, but mostly good I think.

It’s been interesting mostly because I realize how much I don’t properly fuel myself for the day, especially on a day I’m running.  It’s hard to figure out how to feed yourself when you’re often trying to feed the rest of the family on a modest budget and really hate dragging your two and a half year old thru a grocery store.

But I’m going to have to figure out how to make it happen.  Otherwise my body isn’t going to function as well as it can when I’m out there sucking in the crazy windy air that plagues Ohio in the spring time.

I’ve also been struggling with heart palpitations (don’t freak out they don’t hurt they’re just “weird” and yes I’ve been to the doctor).  They never happen when I run, but they did start up about 2-3 weeks into my new training schedule. Not sure what’s going on but my blood work came back normal and oddly enough running calms them down.  They only really come on (or feel more noticeable) when I’m sitting or laying down. It’s weird and freaky at the same time.

So far this whole running lifestyle is turning out to be quite the unexpected adventure.

Leave a Reply

