Back in Orange

If you’ve been following me over in Instagram land you’ve been seeing hints of progress with the Science Fair quilt aka the Hexie quilt.  It’s currently in the basting process as I’ve decided I’m going to suck it up and quilt this mini beast at home.

I went and bought backing fabric, in orange. Yes, orange.  It’s a color I rarely use in such large, open expanses like the back of a quilt.  But this shade drew me in.  It’s called Prisma Elements by Art Gallery and it’s SO soft and drape-y (that’s a word, right?).  I’d almost make a circle skirt out of this because it’s that comfy feeling.  How do they do it?

I don’t know the official hue name but I’m going to say it’s a tangerine.  The gray stacked above it will be used as the binding.  I really think the orange is going to give this quilt a giant POP of color.  Or maybe a BAM! POW! BOP! of color.

It’s worth it to go big on the backing of any quilt in my opinion.  I’m starting to think of the back as a kind of hidden treasure and I’m making strides these days to liven them up and be not so ordinary.

Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

