What I’m Reading: 2015 Wishlist o’ Books

I’m still pushing thru Feast for Crows so there’s not a whole lot more going on in my reading world right now other than what’s happening in Westeros.

In between the days that I just don’t have enough time to read I’ve put together a wishlist of books I’d like to try.  I tend to be one track in my reading selections as I think most people are.  If you know what you like then why bother adventuring outside of your normal reading?  I hope to challenge my norm this year and see how many I can knock out.

In no particular order here is the 2015 Wishlist o’ Books

The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters

The Last Policeman presents a fascinating portrait of a pre-apocalyptic United States. The economy spirals downward while crops rot in the fields. Churches and synagogues are packed. People all over the world are walking off the job—but not Hank Palace. He’s investigating a death by hanging in a city that sees a dozen suicides every week—except this one feels suspicious, and Palace is the only cop who cares.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

(or as I’m going to call it All the Tissues I’m Going to Need)

Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When Marie-Laure is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris, and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast

In her first memoir, Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through four-color cartoons, family photos, and documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast’s memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents.

I’m sure I’ll add more to the list as the year progresses but for now these are the ones that have caught my eye.

Leave a Reply

